If you are stopped for a DUI in Orange County, you could be facing serious penalties, even for a first offense, with no previous record. *Orange County courts* and prosecutors have given in to pressure from groups, such as Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), and are caving into political pressure to show that they are tough on Orange County DUI cases, by increasing punishments, regardless of individual circumstances.
Court Locations and Phone Numbers
Orange County DUI cases may be prosecuted from five court locations, depending upon which court has jurisdiction over the location where the arrest took place.
Central Justice Center (CJC)
700 Civic Center Drive West
Santa Ana, CA 92701
Criminal Clerk Phone: (714) 834-3575
Harbor Justice Center (HJC/NB)
Newport Beach Facility
4601 Jamboree Road
Newport Beach, CA 92660-2595
Criminal Clerk Phone: (949) 476-4699
North Justice Center (NJC)
1275 North Berkeley Avenue
Fullerton, CA 92832-1258
Criminal Clerk Phone: (714) 773-4668
West Justice Center (WJC)
8141 13th Street
Westminster, CA 92683-4593
Criminal Clerk Phone: (714) 896-7351
California laws applicable to Orange County DUI cases can be found at our page about DUI Laws and Punishment.
Orange County Drunk Driving or DUI violations within the city of Anaheim, as well as infraction or municipal code violations within Anaheim, are handled by the Anaheim City Attorney’s Office.
All other Orange County DUI or criminal cases are handled by the Orange County District Attorney.
The maximum penalties for DUI charged as a misdemeanor, and not a felony, includes all of the following:
– Informal, or summary, probation for three to five years
– Six months in the county jail;
– Six months license suspension;
– A fine of $1,000 plus penalty assessment, or a total of $2,710, (the minimum is $390 plus penalty assessment); (The “penalty assessment” is a state tax created by statute in the late 1960s, and is now larger than the fine. Currently, the penalty assessment is 171% of the fine, meaning that on a $100 fine, the total payment is $271 – almost triple the original fine. Current legislation pending will increase the penalty assessment).
– Contribution of $150 to the California State Restitution Fund;
– Proof of enrollment in, and proof of completion at, a Level 1, or AB-541 Alcohol Education Program;
– An “Alcohol Abuse Prevention” fee of $50.00
– A “Blood Alcohol Content” testing fee of $37.00
– A Court security fee of $20.00
Additionally, in Orange County, in the Harbor Justice Center Newport Beach Facility, one of the toughest in the county for Orange County DUI cases, you could be facing some additional requirements: One, that you attend Alcoholic Anonymous (AA) classes in Orange County at least two times per week, and depending upon your blood alcohol level, or priors, second, you may have to promise to stay away from any place that serves alcohol, even restaurants, and third, you may be asked to promise not to drink any alcohol for three years.
You may also suffer consequences with the DMV, including, for first time offenders, a license suspension, which can be converted, in part, to a restricted license.
You should strongly consider retaining the services of a professional experienced with Orange County DUI cases, courts, and prosecutors. More information on finding the best Orange County DUI attorneys here.